Heroes Coming Back

According to TV Tonight, Heroes is set to return April 23 at 10.30pm on ch 7. Its been showing in the US since Feb (Click on TV Tonight to read the article there).

As a Heroes fan, I look forward to seeing the show again. Until recently, though, the 10.30 time slot meant you did not get to see it in HD while ch 7 had its breakaway HD programming. There were some Thursdays where it was “replayed” on 7HD an hour or two later, but for the most part, having the HD breakaway meant that you could not see a show after 10.30 on the main channel in HD. I think it is more important to show what is made in HD in HD rather than having a regular HD breakaway for the sake of it. Both 9 and 7 have been guilty of this.

I do hope 7 will leave Heroes on, untouched at the 10.30pm Thursday night timeslot until it catches up with the episodes shown in the US. We are now 2 months behind, but gaps in the US programming means over time we’ll catch up. I still, to this day, cannot understand why 7 did not finish the whole season when Heroes was last on. There were only a few more episodes to go. The show has not been treated fairly by ch 7, being left to summer last year rather than brought on earlier in ratings season, only to have the last episodes left in limbo when ratings started. For me, the Heroes and Prison Break combination, together with ER in 9, meant there was actually some free to air TV to watch over summer.

I look forward to Heroes. I hope they also play Prison Break within a reasonable time after its US airing. Yes, I know I could download if I wanted to, but Heroes to me needs to be seen in HD. Even if I knew where to download it in HD, one episode would send my monthly internet cap over the top. Besides – if the networks did not mess around with these sorts of shows, showed them at a reasonsable time frame, did not bump them ,etc, noone would even think of downloading, would they?

And now is the time to point out this: ER on 9 used to get about 800k in ratings (off the top of my head). Heroes on 7, gets about 400k. Life on Mars on 10 gets about 500k. 7 puts Heroes on. 10 keeps Life on Mars on. 9 – who’s ER rates better than those two shows, still does not put the show on at any time. Just goes to show which network cares more for viewers.

Leave a Reply

